The best USB hubs depend on which connections your computer lacks, whether you need display output or charging, and how many devices you use at once. These picks cover compact USB-C docks, card readers, switched desktop hubs, and high port-count powered models, with compatibility checks to make before buying.
Quick Top Products
SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
SABRENT USB-C Hub & M.2 SSD Dock (HB-6PNV)
j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub (JCD373EC)
SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)
SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-SHPU)
SABRENT USB-C 5-in-1 Hub (HB-U3CR)
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
SABRENT 13-Port USB 2.0 Hub (HB-U14P)
Fast USB-C Data and Display
SABRENT USB C Hub 5-in-1, 10Gbps USB-A & USB-C Ports, Single 4K@60Hz HDMI, 100W PD Input, 80W Laptop Charging, Compact Aluminum Docking Station for MacBook, iPad, Laptops & Tablets (HB-TG5P)

This compact USB-C hub combines two USB-A and two USB-C data ports rated for 10Gbps with HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz. Its dedicated USB-C PD input passes up to 80W to the laptop when connected to a 100W charger, which is not included.
An integrated cable and aluminum housing suit a desk or travel bag, while the hub’s backlit logo doubles as a power switch. Check that the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode for video; extended desktop mode also requires MST.
This is a strong fit when a laptop needs several fast connections and a single external display.
Best For: A USB-C laptop user who wants fast peripherals, 4K display output, and pass-through charging.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Choose this hub when you need fast USB-A and USB-C peripherals alongside HDMI and laptop charging. Its four 10Gbps data ports give it a different emphasis from hubs centered on many slower connections.
Before buying, confirm the computer’s USB-C port supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode and, if needed, MST. Budget for a separate 100W charger to access the hub’s pass-through charging.
Hub and SSD Expansion Dock
SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure, 6-Port Dock with M.2 SSD Slot, 90W Power Delivery, USB 3.0 & 2.0 Ports, 4K HDMI, RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet (HB-6PNV)

The HB-6PNV packs everyday expansion, wired networking, display output, and an internal M.2 slot into one USB-C travel hub. It has three USB-A ports, Gigabit Ethernet, and HDMI 2.0 output up to 4K at 60Hz.
The SSD slot accepts M.2 SATA or NVMe drives in 2242, 2260, or 2280 form factors, with transfer speeds up to 5Gbps. Up to 90W PD pass-through charging helps keep a compatible laptop powered while connected.
It suits a compact mobile setup especially well, but check host video support and the specific SSD type and size before purchase.
Best For: A laptop or handheld user who wants Ethernet, HDMI, USB-A, and a built-in M.2 drive slot.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Pick this model when an M.2 drive and wired Ethernet matter as much as adding peripheral ports. Its feature mix is unusually broad for a travel hub, while the SSD connection is capped at up to 5Gbps.
Check the drive’s interface and form factor against the supported options, and confirm USB-C DisplayPort Alternate Mode on the host if you plan to use HDMI. The 90W figure is pass-through power, not a supplied charger.
Card Reader, HDMI, and Audio
j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub with Power Delivery with 4K HDMI/2 USB-A 5Gbps/PD 100W Charging SD&Micro SD/3.5mm Audio | for MacBook Pro&Air/iPad Pro/iMac/Surface/XPS/Thinkpad/Galaxy/and More(JCD373EC)

This seven-function USB-C adapter brings together two USB-A data ports, HDMI, a USB-C PD input, SD and microSD readers, and a 3.5mm audio jack. The USB-A ports support 5Gbps, while HDMI output reaches up to 4K at 30Hz.
Its 100W PD port can charge a compatible laptop, and the plug-and-play design works across a broad set of laptops and tablets. It is a practical choice for photo transfers or presentations when built-in card slots and audio are useful.
The display refresh rate is 30Hz, so check whether that suits your screen needs.
Best For: A laptop user who wants card slots, a headphone jack, HDMI, USB-A, and PD charging in one adapter.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Choose the JCD373EC if card access and a headphone connection are more useful than the higher refresh rate offered by some other hubs. Its combination of SD and microSD slots, audio, HDMI, and two fast USB-A ports can simplify a laptop setup.
Check that 4K at 30Hz fits your display use, and confirm what USB-C charger you will use for PD input because adapter inclusion is not specified.
Simple HDMI and USB-A Travel Adapter
SABRENT USB C Hub, USB C to HDMI 4K@60Hz, Type C Hub Multiport Adapter, 100W Power Delivery, Compatible with MacBook, Laptop (HB-TC5P)

This straightforward adapter adds HDMI output, three USB-A ports, and USB-C power delivery to a compatible host. HDMI 2.0 supports up to 4K at 60Hz, while one USB-A port handles data at up to 5Gbps and the other two are intended for lower-speed devices such as a keyboard or mouse.
The integrated cable and lightweight aluminum shell make it an easy option for everyday carry. It is best for a modest peripheral setup rather than several fast storage devices.
Confirm that the host’s USB-C port supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode and charging before relying on video or PD.
Best For: A USB-C laptop owner who needs HDMI, pass-through charging, and a few USB-A connections.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
This hub fits someone who wants a compact HDMI adapter and a few USB-A connections without needing card readers or Ethernet. The key tradeoff is port speed: one USB-A port is the fast connection for storage, while two USB 2.0 ports better fit basic peripherals.
Verify that the specific host USB-C port supports both video and charging, since USB-C alone does not guarantee those capabilities.
Compact 90W HDMI Hub
SABRENT Multi-Port USB-C Hub with Power Delivery, HDMI Out, 3 USB A Ports, 4K@60Hz, 90W PD, Aluminum [HB-SHPU]

The HB-SHPU is a compact USB-C adapter for adding a monitor, basic peripherals, and laptop charging. Its HDMI 2.0 output supports up to 4K at 60Hz, and its three USB-A ports include one rated for 5Gbps alongside two USB 2.0 ports.
It accepts up to 90W PD input for charging compatible devices. A short integrated cable and aluminum casing keep the setup tidy in a travel bag.
Buyers should check host DisplayPort Alternate Mode support for HDMI and remember that only one of the USB-A ports is specified for faster data transfer.
Best For: A traveler seeking a small aluminum USB-C hub with HDMI, USB-A, and PD pass-through.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Consider this model for a compact travel setup where HDMI and pass-through charging matter more than a large number of fast data ports. It has three USB-A ports, but only one is specified at 5Gbps; the other two suit slower accessories.
Confirm video support on the host USB-C port and account for the charger needed to provide PD input. Its short integrated cable can help reduce desk clutter.
USB-C Hub with SD and microSD
SABRENT USB-C 3.0 Hub, 5-in-1 USB SD Card Reader, SD & TF Dual Slot + 3 USB 3.0 Hub Portable Compatible with MacBook, Mac Pro/Mini, iMac, XPS, Surface Pro, Windows, Thunderbolt (HB-U3CR)

The HB-U3CR combines three USB 3.0 Type-A ports with an all-in-one SD and microSD card reader. Its ports and card reader support data transfers up to 5Gbps, making the hub useful for moving files from cards while connecting additional peripherals.
The plug-and-play, hot-swappable design keeps setup simple across supported systems. It is a data-focused option without HDMI or power delivery features in the supplied details.
Check that your card type is SD, SDHC, or Micro SD, and verify whether the host connection matches your device’s USB-C port.
Best For: A photographer or laptop user who transfers from SD or microSD cards and needs extra USB-A ports.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Choose this hub when card access and multiple USB-A data connections are the priorities. It provides a more focused alternative to HDMI-and-charging docks, with the useful combination of three USB 3.0 ports and SD/microSD support.
Check your card format before buying. If you also need monitor output or laptop charging through the hub, those features are not specified here, so look for an adapter that explicitly includes them.
Seven Data Ports and Three Charging Ports
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub, Individual Power Switches and LEDs, 3 Smart Charging Ports, 60W Power Adapter, for PC, Mac, Xbox, PS5, Laptop, Desktop, USB Devices (HB-B7C3)

This powered desktop hub combines seven USB 3.0 data ports with three dedicated charging ports. Data ports support speeds up to 5Gbps, while the charging ports auto-detect and deliver up to 2.4A per port for compatible phones, tablets, and other USB-powered devices.
A 60W power adapter is included, and each port has its own switch and LED indicator. It is a practical fit for a desk with a mixture of peripherals and devices to charge.
Check the devices’ charging needs and remember the seven data connections and three charging ports serve distinct roles.
Best For: A desktop user who wants several USB data connections plus dedicated device-charging ports.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
This is a useful choice for a desktop with both peripherals and phones or tablets to charge. Its seven data ports support USB 3.0 speeds, while three dedicated charging ports add a separate charging role.
Check the charging requirements of your devices and make sure the distinction between data and charging ports fits your setup. The included 60W adapter powers the hub.
Ten Switched USB 3.0 Ports
SABRENT 10-Port 60W USB 3.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs, Includes 60W 12V/5A Power Adapter (HB-BU10)

The HB-BU10 supplies ten USB 3.0 ports, each with its own power switch and blue LED status light. It supports data transfers up to 5Gbps and is designed for drives, phones, card readers, and other USB peripherals.
Plug-and-play setup requires no driver installation. Its powered design includes a 60W, 12V/5A adapter, which suits a stationary workspace with several connected devices.
This model focuses on port count and per-port control; buyers who also need dedicated charging ports should compare the hub’s role layout with a model that explicitly includes them.
Best For: A desktop user who needs many switched USB 3.0 connections for storage and peripherals.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Pick the HB-BU10 when a single computer needs many USB 3.0 data connections and individual power control. It gives each of its ten ports a switch and status light, with an included 60W adapter for powered desktop use.
If your setup also needs dedicated device charging, video output, or card slots, those features are not specified; choose based on the exact mix of connections you need.
High-Capacity 16-Port Data Hub
SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Data Hub and Charger with Individual Power Switches, 90W High-Power Output (HB-PU16)

This 16-port hub offers a substantial bank of USB 3.0 Type-A connections for flash drives, card readers, external drives, and other peripherals. It supports data rates up to 5Gbps and is compatible with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices.
Blue LEDs indicate power status for each port, and the hub supports plug-and-play and hot-swappable use. Its large number of connections suits a crowded desktop, but the supplied details do not identify a power adapter’s capacity or explain how charging performance is allocated.
Check those power requirements if you plan to connect many devices at once.
Best For: A desktop setup that needs a large bank of USB Type-A connections for peripherals and storage.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Consider this hub for a desktop where the main challenge is connecting many USB Type-A devices at once. It offers more downstream ports than the smaller desktop models in this guide and supports USB 3.0 data speeds.
Before purchase, check power details against the devices you expect to connect: adapter capacity and per-port limits are not specified here. It is a connectivity-focused option rather than a documented display or card-reading dock.
13-Port USB 2.0 Desktop Expansion
SABRENT 13 Port High Speed USB 2.0 Hub with Power Adapter and 2 Control Switches (HB-U14P)

The HB-U14P adds 13 USB 2.0 downstream ports and includes a power adapter. Its listed maximum transfer rate is 480Mbps, with support for full-speed and low-speed USB devices as well.
Plug-and-play and hot-swappable setup make it convenient for a group of compatible peripherals, and multiple hubs can be daisy-chained according to the product details. This older USB 2.0 standard is best suited to basic accessories rather than buyers prioritizing fast external storage transfers.
Check your devices’ connection and speed needs before choosing a high-port-count hub with this interface.
Best For: A stationary setup with many lower-speed USB devices that benefit from an included power adapter.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Choose this model when port count matters more than faster storage transfers and your devices can use USB 2.0. Its 13 downstream ports and included adapter suit a stationary peripheral collection, with daisy-chaining supported for compatible setups.
Check whether your devices need higher transfer speeds before buying. Individual switches are not specified, so this hub may not suit someone who wants to turn particular connections on and off at the port.
How to Choose Usb Hubs
How We Picked USB Hubs
This selection covers common needs that lead people to search for a USB hub: adding laptop ports, connecting a monitor, reading memory cards, controlling individual desktop connections, and expanding a stationary computer’s port count. We prioritized models whose supplied details clearly identify their connection types and main capabilities, then included distinct portable and powered desktop roles.
The range includes USB-C travel adapters, card-reader hubs, fast USB-A expansion, and larger powered hubs.
Compatibility is central to a useful hub choice. USB-C does not by itself guarantee video output or laptop charging, so check whether the host supports the required DisplayPort Alternate Mode and USB Power Delivery.
For older USB-A-focused hubs, consider whether USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 speed matches the devices you will connect. A high port count is only useful when the hub’s power arrangement matches the attached equipment.
Comparing USB Hubs
Portable USB-C hubs in this guide focus on combining a few functions in one adapter. The SABRENT HB-TG5P pairs four 10Gbps data ports with 4K at 60Hz HDMI and up to 80W laptop pass-through, while the HB-6PNV adds Gigabit Ethernet and an M.2 slot.
The j5create adapter adds SD and microSD readers plus a headphone jack, with HDMI up to 4K at 30Hz. The smaller HB-TC5P and HB-SHPU also provide HDMI, USB-A, and PD input, but each has only one USB-A port specified for faster data.
Desktop hubs address a different problem: keeping several devices connected at once. The HB-B7C3 has seven data ports plus three dedicated charging ports, while the HB-BU10 provides ten switched USB 3.0 ports.
The HB-PU16 expands to 16 Type-A ports, but adapter capacity and per-port power details are not specified. The HB-U14P offers 13 connections using USB 2.0, so it fits basic peripheral collections better than fast storage transfers.
The coordinator’s comparison table below helps scan these connection and speed differences. Before deciding, count the devices you will connect, distinguish data ports from charging-only ports, and verify which host functions you need.
A card reader, monitor output, Ethernet, and per-port switches solve different setup problems, even when the products are all called USB hubs.
| Product | Standout features | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)Check Price |
| A USB-C laptop user who wants fast peripherals, 4K display output, and pass-through charging. |
| SABRENT USB-C Hub & M.2 SSD Dock (HB-6PNV)Check Price |
| A laptop or handheld user who wants Ethernet, HDMI, USB-A, and a built-in M.2 drive slot. |
| j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub (JCD373EC)Check Price |
| A laptop user who wants card slots, a headphone jack, HDMI, USB-A, and PD charging in one adapter. |
| SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)Check Price |
| A USB-C laptop owner who needs HDMI, pass-through charging, and a few USB-A connections. |
| SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-SHPU)Check Price |
| A traveler seeking a small aluminum USB-C hub with HDMI, USB-A, and PD pass-through. |
| SABRENT USB-C 5-in-1 Hub (HB-U3CR)Check Price |
| A photographer or laptop user who transfers from SD or microSD cards and needs extra USB-A ports. |
| SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)Check Price |
| A desktop user who wants several USB data connections plus dedicated device-charging ports. |
| SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)Check Price |
| A desktop user who needs many switched USB 3.0 connections for storage and peripherals. |
| SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)Check Price |
| A desktop setup that needs a large bank of USB Type-A connections for peripherals and storage. |
| SABRENT 13-Port USB 2.0 Hub (HB-U14P)Check Price |
| A stationary setup with many lower-speed USB devices that benefit from an included power adapter. |
Choosing a USB-C Hub for a Laptop
Start with the laptop’s missing connections. For a monitor, confirm USB-C DisplayPort Alternate Mode support and compare the HDMI resolution and refresh rate with the display you use.
For charging, distinguish a hub’s PD input rating from the power passed through to the host. The HB-TG5P, for example, accepts a 100W charger and passes up to 80W to the laptop; that charger is not included.
Next, consider how many ports need fast data. Several USB-C adapters mix USB 3.x connections with USB 2.0 ports that are better suited to keyboards, mice, or printers.
The HB-TC5P and HB-SHPU each specify one 5Gbps USB-A port and two USB 2.0 ports. That may be enough for a basic workspace, but a user moving files from multiple fast drives should choose a hub with more high-speed data connections.
Picking a Powered Desktop USB Hub
A powered desktop hub makes sense when several peripherals stay connected or when the computer’s own ports are hard to reach. Individual power switches let you control selected connections without unplugging cables.
The HB-BU10 has ten switched USB 3.0 ports; the HB-B7C3 separates seven USB data connections from three charging ports. Read that port layout carefully so charging-only connections are not mistaken for extra data ports.
For large collections, match the number of downstream ports to the devices you actually use and check the power supply details. The HB-PU16 offers 16 ports, but its adapter capacity and per-port charging limits are not specified.
The 13-port HB-U14P uses USB 2.0 and includes an adapter, making speed a key tradeoff. For storage devices, USB 3.0 hubs in this roundup specify transfers up to 5Gbps; the USB 2.0 model specifies up to 480Mbps.
Who Should Buy Which USB Hub?
Choose the HB-TG5P for a laptop setup needing several fast USB-A and USB-C connections, HDMI, and PD pass-through. The HB-6PNV suits someone who also wants an internal M.2 drive and Ethernet, while the j5create JCD373EC is a better feature match when card readers and a headphone jack matter.
The HB-U3CR is the focused choice for SD or microSD transfers plus USB-A ports.
For a desktop, consider the HB-B7C3 when dedicated charging ports matter, or the HB-BU10 when ten individually switched data ports are the priority. The HB-PU16 fits a setup that needs a large bank of USB Type-A connections, while the HB-U14P suits lower-speed USB 2.0 peripherals.
Before ordering, confirm host compatibility, required data speeds, charging behavior, display support, and whether any needed power adapter is included.